Our Vision

For The bright Future Through The Correct Way

Our Mission

Uplifting The Living Standard of The Division Through The Efficient,Everlasting and Planned process Of Developments With The Self-Governence Of The Public,Resource Management For Offering The Service As For The  polycies Of The Governments.

History of Galenbindunuwewa Divisional Secretariat

Before 1999, Colombo Municipal Council area was regarded as only one Divisional Secretariat Division. Later, this office was divided in to two; namely, Colombo and Thimbirigasyaya. There are 47 urban divisions in Colombo Municipal Council. Though the Grama Niladhari divisions were established according to those urban divisions, another 8 Grama Niladhari divisions were established considering the population density. Accordingly the total no. of Grama Niladhari divisions is 55. Out of those 55, 30 belong to Colombo Divisional Secretariat. According to the 2001 census, Colombo Divisional Secretariat Division had the highest population density which was 377,396. It was estimated to be 425,000 by the year 2005. Since then, this office has faced so many difficulties and developed a mechanism to serve the public more effectively efficiently.

Role performed at DS

Name From To
W. Gunarathna 1975 1980
Siripala Kanewela 1980 1987
A.M.W.A. Amunugama 1988 1990
M. Jayathilaka 1990 1992
Sunil Thilakarathna 1992 1994
A.N. De Soysa 1994 1995
K. Karunathilaka 1995 1996
H.R. Sirilal(Acting) 1996.06.12 -
M.D. Gunawansa 1996.11.1 2001.05.30
E.M.N. Ekanayaka 2001.10.24 2003.09.26
E.M.W.A. Amunugama 2003.09.27 2006.02.20
P.D.L. Gunarathna 2006.02.28  2013.02.04
N.H.R. Nishantha(Acting) 2013.02.05 2013.03.06
Magrat P.Kumburage 2013.03.06  Up to Now

News & Events


Pirith chanting - 2019

Pirith chanting with the beginning of the...


Payment Kidney Aid - December 2018

Kidney Aid for the month of October...

Scroll To Top